A “Short” Bio

Since I’m trying to refresh this blog and I (hopefully) will have some new readers stopping by, I thought I would just do a short post to introduce myself and the other “characters” that will be showing up in my posts on a regular basis. 🙂 I need to rewrite my profile on here, so until I get that done, here’s a much more updated “about me” section.

I’m Kristin, and I’m 29 years old. I am kind of panicking about turning 30 this year (only about 9 months away, actually!), so a few months ago I made a list of things that I wanted to do before I turned 30. I have done exactly zero things on the list so far, but I do have high hopes of getting at least a few of them accomplished, so those adventures may show up here as well.

Although my “bucket list” for 30 remains virtually untouched, I still have a lot in my life that I’m proud of.  I am married to a wonderful man, Alex, who balances out my perfectionist, snarky, type-A, grammar nerd personality. He makes me laugh even when I absolutely do not want to. We’ve been married for five years (six this August!), and have known each other even longer. We were great friends for awhile before taking the leap into dating, and we still have that wonderful friendship in our marriage.

Alex and I have two little boys. I am one of “those moms”–the crazy ones with two small children that you see in the grocery store and you think “how–and why?–does she handle that?” Yep, I’m a two under two mama. Our son Jack is 16 months old, and our son Gabriel is one month old. We definitely did not plan on having two so close together. Gabriel was a big surprise, but a happy and welcome one. It has definitely been an adjustment, but we are excited to see the two of them grow up together so close in age and have a built in best friend.

Jack is one of the happiest kids I’ve ever seen: goofy, curious, always wanting to be right in the middle of things, and constantly making me laugh. He’s also very outgoing and friendly, which is hilarious, because Alex and I are definitely more on the introverted side. I don’t know where he got it from, but I hope he keeps his outgoing  personality and sense of adventure throughout his life. Jack loves doggies, spinning in circles, milk, cookies, his binky, Mega Bloks, Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, and being loud. He is a super sweet kid, and is becoming quite the helper. He’s a great big brother already. However, he definitely has an attitude and a little bit of a dramatic side, and can be very stubborn at times. Can’t imagine where he got that from….*ahem*.

It’s hard to say much about a one month old’s personality. So far, Gabriel seems to be a little more serious than his big brother, but he is very observant. If something catches his eye, he stares very intently, and I would love to know what’s going through his little head at those moments. He’s a big eater and has grown a lot since coming home from the hospital. I’m thinking he might eventually be the same size as his “big” brother (Jack’s always been a little peanut).

I received my Bachelor’s degree last May, which is something I had been working towards for years. I majored in English and minored in Communications. I was so excited and proud to finally finish. It wasn’t easy, especially with a little one (Jack was born about 2 weeks before I was supposed to go back for my last semester), and I had many moments where I just wanted to quit. But I’m definitely glad I finished, and the pride and joy that I felt when I walked across the stage to receive my diploma made it all worth it.

A little more about me, and then I’ll wrap up this post that is turning out a lot longer than I planned. I’m the oldest of four children, and I grew up in a tiny little town in Indiana (for size reference, by “tiny,” I mean that I actually grew up in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by woods, and the town closest to us didn’t even have a stoplight). We were all homeschooled, and we had a pretty great childhood. My family moved to Florida the summer I turned 18, which I thought was the worst experience of my life, but I ended up loving it. I fell in love with the beach (in fact, I wrote a tribute to it awhile back), and made some good friends, had some awesome traveling opportunities, and of course met Alex there.

Now I live in the arctic north (okay, it’s just PA). I am currently in hibernation for the rest of the winter, and desperately missing the beach and warm sunshine. Although winter is a bit of a shock to my system, we’ve had some great opportunities, and made some really good friends that are really more like family.

Some of my favorite things include: reading, writing,  the beach, Coca-Cola, making lists, buying awesome new pens and notebooks, Sharpies, Post-Its (I’m sensing a theme here), laughing, candy, cinnamon gum, and Netflix binges.

Okay, that’s all for now. I feel a little narcissistic after talking about myself for so long, haha. Hopefully it wasn’t too boring, and I promise that in future blog posts I will talk less about myself. 🙂 I have several ideas for the blog, so my posts will probably be quite a mix of things. Of course, the biggest thing in my life right now is mommy-hood, so that will probably show up quite a bit, as well as book reviews, my adventures before I turn 30, and things I’ve learned through my experiences in the past. If you’ve stuck with me this long, thanks for reading, and I hope you come back to read future posts!

Advertisements