A Shoutout to the Mamas

Being a mother

Once again, it has been too long since I’ve posted. This raising two kids thing keeps me pretty busy, who knew? (I hope you can sense the sarcasm in that.) Plus I’ve started serving again, so there goes my evenings. I am in the process of trying to get my self-hosted blog up and running, but in light of Mother’s Day this past weekend, I wanted to post a little something.

Moms, as a general rule, are incredibly selfless and loving people. I know there are some who have not experienced that with their mothers, and I am truly sorry about that. It upsets me that some people have experienced hurt and abuse from the one who should’ve been there and loved them the most. To them I would like to say that your feelings and experiences are acknowledged, and I think that you are so strong for fighting through it and using your past to make you a better person and mother.

There are also some who have lost their moms, and I am genuinely sorry about that as well. I can’t imagine not having my mom around. I am almost 30, and still depend on my mom to answer questions and offer support. So for those of you who have lost your moms, I acknowledge your feelings as well, and just want you to know that it’s okay to cry and wish they were still around, no matter how long they’ve been gone. You are strong, but it’s also okay to have moments of weakness and vulnerability as well.

Having said all that, the women and moms that have come into my life one way or another are such amazing women. Whether they’re fighting through a situation listed above, or a different hard situation, or just fighting through Monday, they’re all strong women, and I just wanted to take some time to honor them.

It would take me several blog posts to properly honor all the mother-figures who have poured into my life, so I’ll just generalize a bit here. But please know that you have all made an impact on me!

My Mama Friends: What would I do without you guys? It is so important to have mom friends once you have kids. I need someone who understands that our plans won’t always turn out the way we wanted them to, and our important, heart-to-heart conversation will probably be interrupted by a child at least 20 times. And I need someone who I can call in an emergency when my toddler’s finger is bleeding profusely who can calm me down and tell me what to do. They are the ones who treat my children as if they were their own. They are the ones who don’t judge me if my kid happens to eat something off the floor. They are the ones who encourage me and tell me “you can do this” even if it’s from afar.  All my mom friends are amazing women who I look up to and admire, and I seriously can’t imagine not having them in my life.  You guys rock, and I have learned so much from all of you. Thank you for helping me maintain at least a shred of sanity in my life.

Adoptive Mamas: Wow. Whatever the circumstances were that brought you to adoption, you mamas are amazing. To take a child who was not biologically yours, one that didn’t have much of a chance at a happy life, and to bring them into your life and love them as much as you would one you had given birth to is no small thing. Even if you did not birth these children, you still gave them life–a better life than their circumstances did. You reflected the very heart of God when you brought these little ones into your family, and it is amazing to see the difference it makes in both their lives and yours.

Single Mamas: How do you do it?! Being a mom is exhausting no matter what, but when you’re doing it all by yourself, I can only imagine how hard it must be. You provide for your children, love them, care for them, go to work, clean the house, pay the bills, etc. I’m sure you’re stressed and tired all the time, yet you make sure your children know they are loved and cared for. Your strength and determination are out of this world!

Special Needs Mamas and Mamas of Sick Children: Motherhood is hard, but you moms have added burdens. I’m sure you often think “This isn’t fair.” And I don’t blame you. But you mamas are so strong and selfless. The love you put into your children is beyond words, whether you spend your time taking them to therapy, classes, doctor appointments, or waiting in a hospital room or the NICU, hoping to finally hear some good news. You would give anything to make life easier for your littles, whatever the cost. Although I can’t imagine how it must feel, I just want to say to you that you are exactly what your child needs. Even when it feels like you can’t help them, your love and support is playing an huge part in their lives.

Hopeful Mamas: I know there are so many of you longing to be mamas. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to see pregnancy announcements and pictures of smiling women holding their babies for the first time and not feel bitter or jealous. I admire you for your ability to be happy and rejoice with those women who have children, and for your strength in never giving up hope for your dream of being a mom. I sincerely hope that each and every one of you will see that dream come true someday.

My Own Mama: Well, I don’t really know where to begin. You’ve been making sacrifices for me before I was even born, starting when I decided I wanted to come out on your birthday and ruined your birthday dinner (and then I didn’t even make my appearance until the next day. How rude. haha). Without your love and support throughout my life, I wouldn’t be where I am today. You taught me hard work, and to never settle for less than my best (as evidenced by all the re-writes you would make me do on my papers). You taught me how to be a mom. And even though we have different opinions on some things, I truly wouldn’t know how to be a mom without you around. So thanks for everything, and remember: Only the best moms get promoted to grandma. 😉

My Mother-in-Law: If it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t have been able to marry your amazing son and be a mommy to our two wonderful boys. “Thank you” doesn’t seem like enough to say for that! You did a great job raising A, and you have accepted me as your daughter unconditionally. You radiate love! Thanks for being a wonderful mother-in-law to me and grandma to my boys.

Like I said, there’s no way I can possibly list all those who have influenced and encouraged me throughout this journey as a mother. But you are all noticed, honored, and loved. You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

