Do Over.

Well, here I am again, and once again, I have completely neglected this poor blog. I’ve been wanting to try to get back into blogging for awhile, and I finally got the kick in the pants that I needed.

One of my favorite Christian speakers/authors, Jon Acuff, issued a challenge to his blog/Twitter/email/etc followers & subscribers: a do-over challenge. On January 1st, he sent out an PDF to everyone who signed up that contained worksheets for 10 days that were to help us set aside at least 10 minutes a day to devote to an area in our lives that we wanted to try to do over.

I hesitated to sign up at first. Honestly, I don’t like to commit to things like that, because if I “fail” at them, then I feel like a loser. But, at the same time, it gives me the motivation to do something. This makes it harder to excuse just sitting around the house all day. I blame a lot of things, and yes, I have two boys under two years old, and it’s basically chaos 90% of the time in my house, but that’s still not a good excuse. If I ever want things to change, then I need to step it up and make time to improve myself. So, here I am again with this blog.

Honestly, I don’t know if anyone will read this blog. It’s so intimidating to even think about trying to resurrect this, because there are about a gazillion blogs out there, and it’s hard to think that anyone would ever actually notice mine. But even if no one does, I know I need to do this for myself.

I love my boys (ages 16 months and 1 month), but my life has been completely taken over by kid stuff. I never really get time to myself anymore. I read board books more than all the books I have waiting for me on shelves and in my Kindle. I watch Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood and Clifford the Big Red Dog on a daily basis, and can’t tell you the last time I’ve just sat down to watch a movie and relax. I have children’s songs stuck in my head constantly. Sometimes, I just need to feel like an adult again. I need to feel like someone who has a college degree and is fairly intelligent. I need to keep my writing skills sharpened and up to date. And sometimes, I just need to get my thoughts out of my head and onto paper–or, in this case, a webpage.

So here we go. It’s a new year, and my word for the year is “change.” I want to change a lot of things this year, stop making excuses, and really enjoy my life, my marriage, and my kids. Here’s to small beginnings!

Leave a Reply

