Uninspired.

One of the things I wanted to do this year was to blog and write more. Clearly, that has not happened yet. I’ve just felt so uninspired lately for some reason. I had all these grand ideas of what I would do with my free time once I graduated (if you didn’t know–I did graduate! I have my Bachelor’s degree now, and tons of extra time! It’s amazing.). But….if I’m being honest, I spend most of that time hanging out with J on the couch, reading and watching Netflix.

I’m basically a stay at home mom now, besides working 3 evenings a week at the restaurant. I love it–I had no idea how much I missed him while I was in school until I got the chance to actually be with him all day every day. However, it’s not easy. Especially with him still being so young, I’m constantly having to entertain him, or feed him, or change him, or clean up messes, or something. As my sister in law told me after babysitting him for a couple hours, it’s a full time job. So there’s not much time left for things like writing. I’m still trying to get my house organized from the holidays. I’ve come to realize that with a baby, I can get things done, but basically only halfway. So I have a lot of projects that are half done. It doesn’t make me feel very productive.

But I’ve come to realize that I need to keep writing. I mean, my degree is in English, and I’d like to get a writing/editing job at some point, so I need to stay current. I can’t keep improving if I’m just binge watching Scandal all day. And sometimes I get bored with only a 5 month old to talk to. Writing helps me feel like an adult again, with a life outside of teethers, bouncy seats, sleepers, and burp rags.

But here’s the thing: sometimes writing is scary. Especially writing online. You’re putting yourself out there, your thoughts and feelings, for anyone and everyone to read and form an opinion about. It’s a very vulnerable state to be in, and honestly, one of the reasons why I haven’t pursued anything that would help my writing career yet is because it’s a scary thing to do. What if I’m not as good as I think I am? What if people don’t like my writing, or aren’t interested in what I have to say? But I know I have to do it. I’ve been researching some things, and I found a Twitter account that tweets quotes by writers about writing, and it has started to break through my state of apathy towards writing. I also started this book that’s supposed to help inspire and overcome writer’s block by making lists of random things: specific moments in life, your likes and dislikes, fears, ambitions, etc. It’s interesting.

So here’s to a new year, and hopefully some new inspiration and lots of writing!

writing quote

2 thoughts on “Uninspired.

Leave a Reply

