The Beach. (A Tribute)

Oh, beach, how I miss you. And I mean the real beach, as in, the beach in the South. None of this pansy beach stuff up here. As my brother said, “that’s not a beach. That’s poop disguised as a beach.” Not the most eloquent phrase, but, accurate. Haha

Seriously though, I’m pretty sure that aside from friends and family, the beach is what I miss most about FL. It’s crazy, because in Florida, at least where we lived, you were pretty much stuck in Florida. It took forever to get out of the state. Here in Pennsylvania, I can drive for 2 or 3 hours and go to several different states. Drive for 5 hours and I have even more states to choose from. And I’m talking about going to really exciting places, like NYC, Washington DC, Baltimore…but, I feel so claustrophobic here sometimes. I’m land locked. Sure, in Florida I was stuck there. But you can go to the beach and feel like you’re at the edge of the world. You can stand on the shore and it looks like the water goes for miles, and eventually you can’t tell the sky from the water. I miss that. I miss the feeling of freedom that comes with the beach. 

There is a reason why singers sing about the beach, poets write about it and photographers love to capture it. It’s because you can go there and escape. I think I miss the beach the most right around mid-terms. Mid-terms kick my butt. I hate them. They’re even worse than finals. And on the days when I’m about to tap out, I wish I could just go lay in the sand, close my eyes, feel the sun on my skin and listen to the waves lull me to sleep. There is nothing more peaceful than that. At the beach, nothing matters. Not time, not homework, not chores, not money, nothing. Going to the beach is a mini vacation, even if you’re only there for a couple hours. I could use a mini vacation right now. The beach clears your head and makes everything seem more simple. The waves just wash the stress away. 

I love everything about the beach. The smell-salt in the air, coconut scented tanning lotion. The sound-the waves rolling in and out, the sea gulls squawking (although I really hate sea gulls, I’m always afraid they’re going to attack). The feel-sand between your toes, sun warming your skin, a slight breeze brushing over you. The sight-bright sun, colored beach towels and umbrellas, blue sparkling water. 

Some of my favorite memories happened at the beach. It was where I used to hang out with my friends to celebrate actually having a day off work. It was where I hung out with the guy I eventually married for the first time. It was where he (tried) to propose (that’s another story,lol). It was where my best friend and I dug a hole in the sand for her 6 month pregnant belly to fit in. 🙂 It was where I spent my lunch breaks. Where I would go to have quiet time. Where I went to read gossip magazines and eat salt and vinegar chips and just have some “me time.” Where my friends and I would stage just-for-fun photo shoots with each other. Where people had birthday parties, graduation parties and weddings. Where my mom, my sister and I spent time together before I moved. 

Sometimes I wonder why I am living in this God-forsaken, beach-less place. Lol, just kidding. I do love it here. It has a charm all it’s own. But nothing will ever replace the beach. It’s just not something replaceable. Not everyone here understands how I feel about it. I think to truly be in love with the beach, you have to have lived somewhere like Florida, where it’s practically around the corner from your house. Here, people talk about going to the beach, and they mean they’re going on vacation. I tell them they don’t understand-I could drive 15 minutes and be on a beach and go as often as I wanted. I think it seems like a myth to them, lol. 

These lyrics pretty much sum up my feelings about the beach: “Gonna put the world away for a minute, pretend I don’t live in it. Sunshine gonna wash my blues away…Wishing I was knee deep in the water somewhere, got the blue sky, breeze, and it don’t seem fair. Only worry in the world is the tide gonna reach my chair. Sunrise, there’s a fire in the sky. Never been so happy, never felt so high. And I think I might have found me my own kind of paradise.” (Knee Deep, Zac Brown Band)

I’m coming for you at Christmas, Beach. I’ll be thinking of you. 

One thought on “The Beach. (A Tribute)

  1. Pingback: A “Short” Bio | A Strong Hope.

Leave a Reply

