Chick-fil-A.

Before I get to the point of this post, I just want to state two thing. First of all, I normally do not get involved in things like this, because it always leads to an argument, and let’s face it, arguing online is ridiculous. Arguing about stuff like this is ridiculous no matter what, but especially online. So I will not be engaging stupid comments or instigators. But, I feel compelled to comment on this situation. So this is my opinion. Agree with it or don’t, I don’t care. Just don’t try to start a childish argument with me. Second, I do NOT have a problem with homosexuals. As a Christian, I do not agree with their lifestyle, but I love them as people, just as Jesus does. I have friends that are gay that I love dearly. I have worked with people who are gay that I think are awesome people. So don’t tell me that I have a problem with gays or that I’m being hateful to them, because that’s just ignorant. Now that that’s out of the way…

This uproar about Chick-fil-A is absolutely ridiculous. They don’t support gay marriage, so now everyone wants to boycott them. Do you realize what would happen if I boycotted everything that didn’t support my personal beliefs? I wouldn’t be able to function in society. The last time I checked, we lived in America, where we have the right to free speech. Just because a company doesn’t support what you believe, you’re going to boycott them? Sounds a little whiny to me. Chick-fil-A has never hidden the fact that they were a company based on Biblical principles. Most of the time, when you go into one of their restaurants, they’re playing Christian music on the radio. But they make one statement about homosexuality and now everyone is freaking out. I feel like most people should’ve already known how they feel about that anyway. But since they made a statement, now everyone feels the need to boycott them. I don’t understand this. We, as Christians, are expected to tolerate everything that goes against our beliefs, but others don’t have to tolerate what we believe? Doesn’t that make YOU intolerant? How come I have to have all-encompassing tolerance, but you don’t? Do you know how many people and businesses I come across/frequent everyday that don’t share my beliefs? But guess what. I tolerate them. Because they have good food. Or they’re nice people. Or sell cool clothes. Or whatever. And also because I respect their opinion. I may not agree, but I show respect. And I think that’s what Chick-fil-A deserves from everyone. Because let’s face it. Before this whole outrage, everyone LOVED them. Their food is fantastic and you cannot beat their customer service. I have never been to a fast food restaurant with the level of service and friendliness that Chick-fil-A has. So obviously the Biblical principles are working for them. Everyone that works at any Chick-fil-A I’ve ever been to is SO nice. They smile and tell you that it’s “their pleasure” to serve you. Who else does that? The food always tastes great and they have NEVER screwed up an order for me. Do you know how many times McDonald’s has screwed up my order? Or how many times I’ve walked into Burger King and the cashier barely acknowledges me? Too many times to count. So, say what you want about Chick-fil-A’s personal beliefs, but you can’t argue that they are doing something right, and are a step above any other fast food place when it comes to how to run a business.

Let’s face it-if a group of Christians decided they were going to boycott McDonald’s or Burger King or some other place because they made a statement saying they were in favor of gay marriage, we would be ripped apart. People would be outraged over our lack of tolerance, and we would be mocked and ridiculed for our “narrow minded” beliefs. But when the shoe’s on the other foot, somehow it’s okay.

Personally, I feel like the issue here is not about whether or not they support gay marriage. The issue that is absolutely appalling to me is the fact that we live in America and have “tolerance” shoved down our throats constantly, yet people clearly can’t practice what they preach. If you want me to be tolerant towards your beliefs, then you owe me the same respect.If you don’t want to go to Chick-fil-A because they disagree with your personal beliefs, then fine, but for the love, stop acting like they’re so evil. If you want to stand up for your beliefs, then by all means, do so, but then don’t be surprised when others stand up for their own. Personally, I feel like Chick-fil-A summed it up perfectly in their statement about this issue: “The Chick-fil-A culture and service tradition in our restaurants is to treat every person with honor, dignity and respect – regardless of their belief, race, creed, sexual orientation or gender. We will continue this tradition in the over 1,600 Restaurants run by independent Owner/Operators. Going forward, our intent is to leave the policy debate over same-sex marriage to the government and political arena.

Chick-fil-A is a family-owned and family-led company serving the communities in which it operates. From the day Truett Cathy started the company, he began applying biblically-based principles to managing his business. For example, we believe that closing on Sundays, operating debt-free and devoting a percentage of our profits back to our communities are what make us a stronger company and Chick-fil-A family.

Our mission is simple: to serve great food, provide genuine hospitality and have a positive influence on all who come in contact with Chick-fil-A.” (You can find this statement on their official Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ChickfilA )

Sounds to me like they’re not really discriminating. They state quite plainly that they desire to serve EVERYONE. They just don’t agree with everyone’s beliefs. Last time I checked, that wasn’t a crime. Unfortunately, it seems like it’s becoming one.

4 thoughts on “Chick-fil-A.

Leave a Reply

