Goodbyes.

I hate goodbyes. Anyone who truly knows me knows this. I never want to say goodbye (I feel like that could be/is a song lyric). I try to avoid them as long as possible. Even when we moved all the way up here to PA from FL, it was a struggle to actually say goodbye to my family. I’d rather just make it “see you later” even if that’s not really the case. I feel like I’ve had to say goodbye a lot in my 26 years. I had to say goodbye to the best friend I ever had when I moved from IN to FL. I had to say goodbye to all my friends and babies when I left China. Then I had to say goodbye to my brothers when they moved to PA. I had to say goodbye to several friends as they moved out of the area. And then, of course, we had to say goodbye to our friends and family when we moved up here, which may have been some of the hardest goodbyes I’ve ever had to say.

Sadly….it’s time to say goodbye to people again. I haven’t even lived here a year yet and I’m already saying goodbye to friends. Friends that I am truly thankful God put into my life to make this transition as easy as possible. My friend Ashley is graduating in a couple of weeks and moving back to Philly, and my friend Rihanna is moving at the end of August. I will miss them tons. I’m sad they’re leaving and won’t be a normal part of my life anymore, but I’m excited for where God is leading them and what He is going to do in and through their lives.

I think that’s the hardest thing about getting older and seeking God’s plan for your life….you never know where He is going to take you, your family or your friends. The fact is, we can’t wish for everyone to stick around forever just for our own sake. That’s not fair to them. It’s holding them back from better things that God has for them, and also keeping them from the impact they can make on others. I’m learning to love my friends, but to hold on to them loosely. Be thankful for the time you have together, but don’t hold each other back. Send them out with blessings and love.

And I do believe that true friendship conquers any distance or time. My friend Becky and I are living proof of that. So I guess my point is…yeah, goodbyes suck. They are hard. I will probably cry my eyes out at Ashley’s graduation in two weeks. But it’s not the end of the world. It’s a beginning that God can use for amazing things. And I will be telling myself that over and over again this summer as I say goodbye again.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right. And I hope you had the time of your life. 

One thought on “Goodbyes.

  1. Never can say goodbye girl….nooo. You’ll never say goodbye to me. It’ll always be see you later. Our friendship knows not the bounds of distance and time, for it is limitless and without end. Lol love ya! Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

