Spring!

Today is the first day of Spring! It’s actually been feeling quite Spring-ish here in Central PA for a couple weeks now, and I could not be happier. Although we had a pretty mild winter, it was still pretty torturous for this FL girl. It’s been pretty warm and sunny here the past couple of weeks and I’m loving it! The air smells so fresh and clean and the sun is finally warm like it’s supposed to be. I feel like everything just popped up over night! One day it was cold, gray and dead and then all of a sudden, things were sunny, warm, green and alive. I was staring out the window during class 2 weeks ago and then all of a sudden I realized that the previously lifeless-looking tree branch had green buds sprouting on it. Then one morning I woke up and heard birds singing. And now I’m seeing tulips and daffodils springing up out of the ground. It’s amazing! I haven’t had a true spring in a long time. As all Floridians know, seasons are different down there-instead of Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter, FL has Hot, Disgustingly Hot, Really Hot and Warm. So I have to say, I am really appreciating Spring this year. It’s amazing how much better it is after you’ve gone through winter. Just when I thought I couldn’t take one more cold, gray day, I was surprised by Spring.

I can really see God in the seasons. It’s like He had these little Spring surprises waiting for me. I was so depressed and “blah” feeling during winter and finally He said “okay! You’ve gone through it long enough–here’s sun and flowers and warmth and birds and green grass!” But we had to have the winter to get to the spring. I’ve seen this in my own life so many times, as I’m sure many others have. You just keep trudging along in a situation, wondering how much longer can you really put up with it and then all of a sudden-almost overnight, it seems-you’re out! You don’t know when or how it happened, but somehow you finally made it through. God brings you new life and joy and peace and you’re finally in springtime. But unfortunately, we have to have the winter seasons in our lives to get to the spring-times. It’s not fun, and it’s actually pretty crappy most of the time, but there is always an end in sight. I honestly wondered this winter if I’d ever be warm again. But I just kept reminding myself that it wouldn’t last forever. It couldn’t. There HAD to be a spring-time eventually. And there was. Just like the seasons always change, without fail, no matter how long they take, God never fails us either. He’s always there, and He’ll always give us a breakthrough. Even though sometimes it feels like it’s taking forever and you’re really afraid you’re just going to have to give up or pass out or something, there will be an end. The waiting is the hardest part, but it is always worth it. I just have to go outside and breathe in the fresh air and delight in the flowers to remember this.

This vision is for a future time.
      It describes the end, and it will be fulfilled.
   If it seems slow in coming, wait patiently,
      for it will surely take place.
      It will not be delayed.–Habakkuk 2:3

Leave a Reply

