R.I.P. Smokey

So today Alex and I had to make the incredibly hard decision to put down our cat Smokey. We knew there was something wrong with her, but we thought it could be treated. However, the worse she got over the past few days, the more we realized that it seemed to be something more serious. We took her to the vet today and even though we had a feeling it may be cancer, we were still hoping for the best. Unfortunately, it was cancer. The vet was very sympathetic and thoughtful, but basically said there was nothing that could be done about it. Although I wanted to keep her until the very end, she hadn’t been eating for the past few days and  was basically starving to death, and I knew it wasn’t right to make her suffer through that. So after many tears and discussion, we decided to go ahead and put her down this afternoon.

I don’t really understand why this had to happen to Smokey. She wasn’t even very old. So many people were praying for her. But I guess it’s not something I can get an answer to. I am just thankful for the time we had with her. She was truly part of our little family and we will both miss her so much. She was the best kitty ever. I still expect her to come out from around the corner when I come in the door, or start meowing as soon as she hears me getting a snack. It’s been a rough day. I am so grateful for the support of my family and friends though, who have been there to comfort me, and understand that even though she was “just” a pet, she was still family to me. This was probably the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, and I genuinely hope I never have to make that decision again.

Thank you to everyone who prayed, and who was there for me today. I love you all (and Smokey did too).

Leave a Reply

