Changes.

Once again, I am guilty of being a slacker. I have not kept my promise and posted. But honestly? There was nothing to post about in St Petersburg. It was the same every day….hang out, go to work, come home exhausted, sit around in the dorm-like apartment we have, go to bed. Same old, same old, every day. Needless to say, things were not as we expected up here. I started out this year by saying that I knew God was going to teach us and show us things up here in St Pete. However, I did not realize what He was going to say was “Hey, guess what? You don’t belong in Florida anymore!” But as much as I thought I would fight against Him telling us that, the revelation actually came fairly easily. It started one night by Alex and I talking, once again, about how much we hated it here. I have had such a struggle. I tried to keep my attitude positive. I tried to see the good in it. I tried to see God’s plan. I still hated it. So basically, our conversation went like this: “Alex, we can move out of state, or we can move back to Englewood, but I’m not staying here.” God bless Alex for putting up with me for almost two years now, haha. Anyway…the idea of Pennsylvania arose (because I couldn’t get Alex convinced to move to Indiana. 😦 ) And instead of shooting it down like I normally would (are you crazy?! You want me to deal with winter again?!) I actually considered it. And it sounded like a good idea. So, we started praying. We prayed that if God really wanted us there, He would open doors that seemed impossible for us to get through. And…He did. Quickly. So quickly I was amazed. I honestly think that’s the fastest I’ve ever seen God move in my life (or else it was the fastest that I’ve ever listened!). So, we’re going to PA. And I am so excited about it, which is the main reason I know it’s from God. Because not even 6 months ago, if you had said “Hey, Kristin, what do you think about moving back up north?” I would’ve laughed in your face and said “Seriously? There is a reason people vacation down here in the winter. I’m not crazy.” But I am actually so excited right now about living up there. My heart is not in Florida anymore. I’m not sure when exactly God moved it from here to up north, but it happened suddenly. And I realized it when I was back in Indiana for vacation. Normally when I go up there I think “Oh, this is fun, it’s where I used to live, I missed my friends” etc etc, but I’m always anxious to get back to Florida, because Florida was my home. But when I was up there last week, I didn’t want to go back to Florida. I wanted to stay there. In the country. With green grass, and fields, and covered bridges, and maple trees, and robins. It felt like home. And that’s really what solidified our decision. I knew God was changing my desires to His plan and purpose. It will be hard to leave FL. Especially our friends and family here. That part is tearing me up. But I know it’s time to move on. I knew PA is different from IN, but it’s a lot closer than FL. I’m so excited to live in a place where I could walk outside barefoot without stepping in fire ants or getting sand spurs stuck in my toes. I’m excited to drive down the road and see covered bridges and trees. Winter is not going to be fun. But I’m excited about celebrating Christmas in a place where it actually feels Christmas-y.

Bottom line is-this is not how I thought life would turn out for me. But, when does life ever turn out the way we think it’s going to, or the way we think it should? I feel like God has opportunities up there for us that we don’t even know about yet. I really have a feeling of hope and expectancy for this. I’m excited. This is a new adventure for our little family and I’m grateful to have my husband and God by my side for the journey.

Leave a Reply

