Children.

So, I have to confess something. I seriously have a huge fear of something. I know that as Christians we are not supposed to live in fear, and not to worry and stuff. So I try not to think about it too much. Plus, it’s kind of dumb to think about now anyway, seeing as how it’s not going to happen for awhile. But anyway, here it is: I’m scared to raise kids someday.

Okay, maybe scared isn’t the right word. I’m really nervous about it. As you all know, I work with kids, so I see a lot of different kids from different backgrounds and families and stuff. But honestly? They all kind of act the same. Kids these days do things that I would’ve never dreamed of doing when I was a kid. They’re disrespectful, rude and mean. I know that they have their redeeming qualities at times too, but on a general day to day basis, this is what I see. I don’t understand it. When I was a kid, if I had talked to adults the way these kids do, I would’ve been in huge trouble. I was taught to respect leaders, respect other people’s things, be kind to my friends, to have a good work ethic, etc. Do parents teach their kids this stuff anymore? The thing is, I do see some parents that try. But it doesn’t seem like it helps. And that’s where I get nervous. What if I try so hard to be a good parent and make sure that my child grows up to be a responsible, Godly, contributing member to adult society and they still don’t turn out that way? It just seems like kids are out of control these days. Again, I’m just generalizing. There are some really great kids out there. But the majority that I see-not just at work, but everywhere-seem to have issues.

I see these kids and I think “That is not how my kids are going to act someday.” I see teenagers doing stupid stuff and I think “My teenagers will never get away with that.” But then I realize that I’m being judgmental and I should watch myself. Because the thing is, some of these parents seem like they are trying to discipline their kids and instill values in them. So what goes wrong? What if it happens to me? I mean, my parents did their best to raise me and I still did some stupid stuff. So that’s why it kind of scares me. Because it’s a huge responsibility, and once you’re a parent, you’re a parent for life. I just don’t want my kids to grow up and feel like I failed as a parent. I mean, I honestly don’t know if I want to take the risk.

I know this is random and rambling, and I hope it doesn’t make anyone mad. I don’t think anyone really reads my blog anyway, lol. I just had to get this all out. It’s really been on my mind lately. I’m not singling any kid out, or talking about a specific child here. I am just in shock sometimes at the way the typical American child acts these days.

How DO you raise your kid to be Godly and respectful and hardworking? It’s kind of nerve wracking to think of having my first kid someday. I mean, I won’t know what I’m doing. How do you learn how to be a parent? I don’t want to screw my kid up, lol.

Sigh. I know that if I’m meant to have kids someday, God will teach me what to do and how to do. It’s just such a huge thing to think about, and a responsibility that I am planning on taking very seriously. I really want to be able to give my kids to have the best life for them someday, and for them to be able to be Jesus to everyone they meet. To me, that’s the most important thing. Not that my kids will be super smart, or go to a fancy college, or become doctors or anything like that. I just want them to shine. To be a living, breathing, walking, talking example of God and His love.

Leave a Reply

